Monday, April 27, 2009

On Mating Rituals and A Bloody Dress

So I went to my first bar in north Carolina. That was probably the most interesting thing that happened to me there, so I figured that that is where I will start with all of what I have to say about the trip. As a side note, something I have noticed about myself...I need to write something right after it happens or else I lose the want to write it anymore. Like I really wanted to write about a whole bunch of things from N.C., but now it's so far away from when they happened or I thought if them that I don't want to anymore.
The rat cage smells. Or maybe it's the glider cage. Yuck. That's the only bad thing about opening windows...it stirs up smells. Plus the dog farted. Come on.
So anyways, the bar. Not to say that the concert was not interesting...I have a whole slew of things to write about that experience, but it was after all a concert. Most of what I observed can be observed through any person's eyes at any concert.
I did not want to go. I mean, I have been in places with bars, but never gone out to the bar...so I was nervous. Plus, it was just me and Francis's sister going. I was leaving the boys, my comfort zone, behind. I kept trying to get out of it, but halfheartedly because Lizzy can be very mean, and well, let's face it, I wanted to impress her. I have this weird thing. I actually don't know if it's weird at all...I think most people, especially women feel this way, but most will not admit it. I like Lizzy, but she is that girl who is very open about her opinions. If she does not like you, you know it. She is comfortable in her skin, in her posistion, in her life. For the msot part anyways. She reeks of self confidence. And I think all women are attracted to that...we all want to be that woman. Therefore we want women like that as friends. Maybe we hope that a little of that confidence will rub off on us? Maybe we just want to use their self confidence to our advantage in social situations. Whatever the reason, I can't explain it, I wanted her to like me. So I knew I had to go. Besides, she had a dress that would fit me perfect.
And boy did it. I looked great. I put the dress on and went out to show the boys. I acted like it was no big deal, but I knew I looked good. That's always the fun thing about being a girl, we get to be coy.
Anyways, when we were gtting ready to leave, I had done my make-up, my hair, and gotten dressed. I looked down and there was a weird spot on the dress. Naturally I freaked...I had no idea what it was, but it wasn't may dress, and I didn't want Lizzy mad at me! Long story short, I got my period, tried to use it to get out of going, but ended up in jeans and a cute top anyways, and we went.
We got to the first place at like ten thirty. We met up with a friend of hers. Apparently they do this every weekend. I can't imagine that. The place was dead. They were playing terrible old music. "She's a Brick House", songs by Prince, rap that I was into in middle school. When we first got there, we got drinks. I didn't know what to order because I don't like beer. I ordered a sex on the beach, and the bartender was joking about it with me, and I found that I had no idea how to respond. I felt so awkward! The bar scene is totally different from anything I have ever done before. As it is, I feel awkward in new situations and especially social situations, so this was a terrible combination of the two for me. We sat at a table outside for about an hour and a half before we left. It was boring, but I wanted to stay. I could deal with boring. No one talked or approached me, so I was okay with that. The next place we went, Lizzy told me it would be busy. That's when I got nervous.
As soon as we got there we went t the bar. Some weirdo started hitting on me. There was something off about his eyes. I didn't know what to do, so I didn't order anything and we walked away. We stood in one of the farther corners from the dance floor. This place was busy. There were people everywhere, and I was so nervous. I ended up going to a mini bar and getting a jack and coke...which was MUCH stronger than I usually take them, but it was eight dollars so I figured I HAD to drink it. Plus, I just felt the need to have something in my hand. You don't see many people without something in their hands, be it a drink or another person. It's a strange phenomenon about bars and clubs. Plus, I don't dance, so to stand still with nothing in my hands made me look just really strange. Then I started to watch people.
When someone Lizzy or Heather (the friend) was interested in walked by, their body language totally changed. They were not the only ones. The dancing got sexier, eye contact was made. Even just their postures when they stood were different. And I started seeing everyone doing this. It was like some strange mating ritual. But the guys never approached right away. They would make eye contact and then circle the girl that they were watching. Then they would stop and watch, but pretend not to watch. If they felt it was right, or if they were trying to decide if the girl was really into them and then decided yes, they would approach.
Now, I don't know if it's just me, but if I see a guy who is attractive, the best approach they can make to me is just to come up and start talking. But that obviously can't be done in a bar. I always thought pick up lines were a joke, but they seriously happen! From what I experienced though, not in the exact cheesy way we all know about. But seriously, a guy can't come up and say hi. For example, one guy came up and started yelling in our faces about why he DIDN'T want to talk to Heather...by doing this he was really explaining why he did want to talk to her...but the way he did it was so annoying that we did all we could to make him go away. If he had just started talking to her, maybe he would have gotten somewhere.
Another pulled a classic wingman move. He approached all of us alone, then separated me while his two friends came up and started talking to Lizzy and Heather. This was my guy for the night. No matter how many times I got rid of him, he kept coming back. Why? I mean, I understand that most people going to a bar are single looking for someone. Okay cool. But if a person is very obviously not interested, why hang around?
Another phenomenon that struck me was how cheap going to a bar is for a female. I understand the logic...get a girl drunk, and you could end up with her at home. However, men don't actually use this logic. We had a guy buying us drinks all night that we only saw once in awhile. I mean, he would show up, we would get him to buy us drinks, then he would leave. It was so easy! We didn't even have to pretend to be interested. Apparently too, he had been buying girls drinks all night. I wonder if it worked out for him.
All in all I had a really good time, especially once I started drinking and was able to loosen up. But it was all together a very strange experience for me. I couldn't do it every weekend, even fi I were single, that's for damn sure. It's too stressful! Plus, it took a lot out of me. I was so tired when I got home. Drinking makes me sleepy anyhow.
I would have had more to say (and I guess you are lucky I don't, since this is already like ten pages long), but now that it was so long ago...a whole three days, I just don't feel like writing more about it.
My thing is, I need to write something before I tell someone about it. Once I tell someone about something, it gets boring to type it all over again. I get the same feeling about my dream book. If I tell someone about my dream first, I don't want to write it. Weird. I need to stop. I'm tired and my fingers are getting stupid.
Night!

No comments:

Post a Comment