Monday, May 4, 2009

The Feaking Nerve of a State Funded College

You know, sometimes weird things happen to me and I just can't figure out why in the hell they happen. They might not be weird to most people, but I don't know, sometimes they hit me. For example, I tend to have random sex dreams about people I don't know. They are always people I have seen or met, but they are usually people I really don't know. Like I would go to work at Walmart and see a new worker. We would smile and say hi, and whether or not I found him attractive, I could go home and have a sex dream about him. Weird. And most times they are about people I would never even consider.
Honestly, that has nothing to do with what I want to talk about, other than the fact that I got a weird phone call that pissed me off tonight. I have been getting calls from a number that I didn't recognize but I knew was local. This went on for about two weeks. I figured if it was important they would leave a message. I should also mention that I refuse to answer my phone if I don't recognize the number. Anyhow, I got another call from said number tonight. I picked up the phone and all I could hear was other people talking. The conversation went as follows:
Her: Hi I'm looking for a Mr. or Mrs. Bradshaw?
Me: This is her.
Her: Hi Mrs. Bradshaw. I am so and so and I am a Freshmen at SUNY Brockport. How are you tonight?
Me: Fine.
Her: Well I see here that Brand is up for graduation this semester. Will you be attending the ceremony?
Me: No, I am unable to.
Her: Oh well, I heard it was a really nice ceremony. I'm sure sure if you can't make it because you will not be around or whatever...
Me: I will be out of town at that time.
Her: Oh. Well I guess I'm just a freshmen and I don't know anything about graduation...
Me: *Silence*
Her: Anyways, I was just calling to see if you would like to make a last minute donation to the ceremony in the amount of $50.00 or even $25.00?
Me: Uh no. I am unable to at this time.
Her: Oh, okay, have a good night then.

SERIOUSLY? I mean, first of all, I told her (yes, as my mom) that we would not be at the ceremony. So...why would I donate money for a ceremony I will not even be attending? You have to figure (in most cases) that if a parent is not going, then the kid isn't either. This is the case here. Second, WHO THE HELL HAS FIFTY DOLLARS TO DONATE TO A COLLEGE CEREMONY...THAT THEY ARE NOT GOING TO ANYWAYS?!?!!? And third, the worst to me...I pay thousands of dollars to this college for every semester I attend. Not every year, every semester. How in the hell do they not have the money to fund the ceremony? What the hell else am I paying for? I have been going to this school for four years. They have MORE than enough of my money to pay for SEVERAL graduation ceremonies! OMG.
I hung up and thought to myself that this college seriously has some nerve. I just can't stand it.

In other news, today is one of my loser days. I don't know what I am doing with my life and I feel like a total failure. Take the good days with the bad, right? See ya.

No comments:

Post a Comment